Search the catalog for books and media, read e-books, reference materials and journal articles online, find out about library events or sign up for a reader’s newsletter… < Right click to return to home >

My Account
Classic Catalog
Return to Library Home page

Local Government Officials


Covering the Library Service Area

  • Alameda County Board of Supervisors
  • Governor & other State Officials
  • State Senate
  • State Assembly
  • United States Senate
  • U.S. House of Representatives

Alameda County Board of Supervisors
1221 Oak Street
Rm. 536
Oakland, CA 94612

Name District Local Address Phone
Scott Haggerty, Vice President 1st District none 510-272-6691
Gail Steele 2nd District none 510-272-6692
Alice Lai-Bitker 3rd District none 510-272-6693
Nate Miley 4th District none 510-272-6694
Keith Carson President 5th District none 510-272-6695



Governor and Other State Elected Officials


Governor: Arnold Schwarzenegger (Republican)
State Capitol Building
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916)445-2841
Fax: (916)445-4633
Send E-mail to ArnoldSchwarzenegger

San Francisco Office
455 Golden Gate Avenue
Suite 14000
San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone: (415)703-2218
Fax: (415)703-2803

Lieutenant Governor: John Garamendi
Lt. Governor's Home Page
(916) 445-8994

Attorney General: Edmund G. Brown, Jr. (Democrat)
Attorney General's Home Page
(800) 952-5225

Treasurer: Bill Lockyer (Democrat)
State Treasurer's Home Page

Superintendent of Public Instruction: Jack O'Connell (Democrat)
Department of Education's Home Page

Secretary of State: Debra Bowen
Secretary of State's Home Page

Controller: John Chiang
State Controller's Home Page

Insurance Commissioner: Steve Poizner
Department of Insurance Home Page
(800) 927-4357


Local Legislators

District descriptions for State Senate, State Assembly, and the U.S. House of Representatives reflect the new boundaries resulting from 2002 redistricting.


State Senator Don Perata
9th District (Includes Alameda, Albany, Berkeley, Dublin, Emeryville, Livermore, Oakland, Piedmont, parts of Castro Valley, and parts of Contra Costa County.

State Capitol, Room 205
Sacramento, CA 95814

District Office:
1515 Clay Street, #2202
Oakland, CA 94612

Send E-mail to Don Perata



State Assembly Person: Loni Hancock
14th District (Includes Albany, Berkeley, Emeryville, parts of Oakland, and parts of Contra Costa County)

Capitol Office:
State Capitol
P.O. Box 942849
Tel: (916) 319-2014
FAX: (916) 319-2114

District Office:
712 El Cerrito Plaza
El Cerrito, CA 94530
Phone: (510) 559-1406
FAX: (510) 559-1478

State Assembly Person: Alberto Torrico (Democrat)
20th District (Includes Fairview, Fremont, Newark, Union City, and parts of Castro Valley, parts of Pleasanton, and parts of Santa Clara County)

California State Assembly
P. O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0020
Phone: (916) 319-2020
Fax: (916) 319-2120

Local Office:
39510 Paseo Padre, Ste. #280
Fremont, CA 94538
Phone: (510) 440-9030
Fax: (510) 440-9035


Local Legislators (Federal)

Barbara Boxer (Democrat)
112 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Local Office:
1700 Montgomery St., Suite 240
San Francisco, CA 94111
FAX (956)-6701
Send E-mail to Barbara Boxer

Dianne Feinstein (Democrat)
331 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Local Office:
One Post St., Suite 2450
San Francisco, CA 94104
Send E-mail to Dianne Feinstein


U.S. House of Representatives

Barbara Lee (Democrat)
9th District (Includes Albany, Ashland, Berkeley, Castro Valley, Emeryville, Fairview, Oakland, Piedmont, and parts of Cherryland)

414 Cannon House, Office Bldg.
Washington, DC 20515
(202) 225-2661

Local Office:
1301 Clay St., Suite 1000N
Oakland, CA 94612
(510) 763-0373
Send E-mail to Barbara Lee

Jerry McNerney
11th District (Includes Dublin, parts of Pleasanton, parts of Sunol, and parts of Contra Costa, San Joaquin, and Santa Clara counties)

Washington D.C. Office
312 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
Tel: (202) 225-1947
Fax: (202) 226-0861

Pleasanton Office
5776 Stoneridge Mall Rd. #175
Pleasanton, CA 94588
Tel: (925) 737-07277

Stockton Office
2222 Grand Canal Blvd. #7
Stockton, CA 952077
Tel: (209) 476-8552

Fortney H. "Pete" Stark (Democrat)
13th District (Includes Alameda, Fremont, Hayward, Newark, San Leandro, San Lorenzo, Union City, parts of Cherryland, parts of Pleasanton, and parts of Sunol)

239 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Local Office:
39300 Civic Center Dr., Room 220
Fremont, CA 94538
(510) 494-1388
FAX (510) 494-5852