Skip to main content

Boards & Commissions: Home

The Alameda County Library Advisory Commission (ACLAC) is an advisory commission consisting of 15 members. The commission includes a Council member from each of the 5 cities in the Alameda County Library service area, 6 members at large appointed by either the Alameda County Board of Supervisors or ACLAC members, and 4 members appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Commission members, other than City Council members, are appointed for two year terms; City Council members serve in conjunction with their council terms or as appointed by their respective councils.


  1. Cynthia Hegedus - Albany
  2. Arun Goel - Dublin
  3. Raj Salwan - Fremont
  4. Maria “Sucy” Collazo - Newark
  5. Pat Gacoscos - Union City
  6. Michael Baldwin - Castro Valley
  7. Karen Bridges - Member/at/Large
  8. Cheryl Hoffman- San Lorenzo/Ashland/Cherryland

Staff liaison: Cindy Chadwick, County Librarian, 510-745-1504.

Meetings: 1st Wednesday of January, April, July, and October meetings rotate among branches.

Call 510-745-1504 to confirm meeting location.

Board Purpose
Advises the City Council on matters relating to the Albany branch of the Alameda County Library system.

Board Composition:
Members/Term: 5 Council Appointees - Members serve for two years, until the next Municipal Election.

(Roster updated 4/6/2017)

Sue Douglass
Rosalie Gonzales
Cynthia Hegedus
Karen Leeburg
Sarah Levin

Library staff liaison - Natalie McCall, Albany Acting Branch Manager -
City of Albany staff liaison - Ronnie Davis - 

Bi-monthly (odd numbered months beginning in January of each year), Third Tuesday of the month, 7:00 p.m.
Albany Public Library, Edith Stone Meeting Room
1247 Marin Avenue

Responsible Department
Administration, Staff Liasion - Ronnie Davis

The Fremont Library Advisory Commission consists of 9 members appointed by the Fremont City Council, each to four-year terms. The Commission was established by the City in 1982 to advise the Council and the County librarian on Library facilities and services in Fremont


  1. Felix Lechner, Chair
  2. Andrea Schacter, Vice Chair
  3. Erika Albury
  4. David Sheen
  5. Chitraleka Vivek
  6. Yan Liu
  7. Deepak Chhabra
  8. Ayush Patel (Student Commissioner)
  9. Patricia Finch (Friends of the Library Representative)


      Karena Shackelford, City of Fremont, 510-284-4000

If you are interested in serving on the Fremont Library Advisory Commission, visit the City of Fremont’s Boards, Commissions, & Committees page for more information and to access the Board and Commission Application

Brian Edwards
Alameda County Library
2400 Stevenson Boulevard
Fremont, CA 94538

Phone: 510-745-1413

Commission meets the 4th Monday of January, the 3rd Monday of March, May, September and November, and a special joint meeting the 1st Wednesday of June, 7:00 p.m., usually at the Fremont Main Library, 2400 Stevenson Blvd, Fremont.

Call 510-745-1504 to confirm meeting date and location.

Loading ...